Writing Prompt 21

I couldn’t believe what he was saying to me in the privacy of our bedroom. “You must kill all your darlings.” He laughed. Then, buttoned his shirt. “I’m sorry. I have no idea what you’re talking about. ‘Darlings?”‘
“Yes, Delphinia. It’s not hard to understand. I want you to sell all your slaves. You can start with the one who puts the bath warmer under your covers. Then, you can get rid of the one who fans you on our veranda. Next, Pappy who rides you in the carriage. You’re too close to him. I hate to think what family secrets you’ve told that old man.”
“Why? Why should I sell the people who make my life more easy and comfortable? Are you doing this because of Vance?”
“What’s Vance got to do with it?”
“You had a hissy because I shared a Mint Julep with him on the balcony. Now you’re trying to make me suffer.”
He came over to me and looked me dead in the eye. “What makes you think I care that much about you? Aren’t you thinking too much of yourself?”
“Maybe. I am better than you. You’re just a male whore who beds every new slave who works this plantation.”
He slapped my face. It was the first time he had resorted to hitting me.
“Just do what I say. Pick the slaves. They’ll go up for sale on Saturday while I’m in New Orleans.”
“And while I’m getting rid of my “darlings,” why don’t you get rid of your darlings starting with that high yaller gal who has already given you two babies.”

One Thousand Five Hundred

photo

View original post

One thought on “Writing Prompt 21

  1. Pingback: Serial Saturdays: Abuse Your Darlings | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

Leave a Reply

