Antique Antics | Chinese Dresser 1900’s | I am Qing

I really like this essay about an old Chinese dresser. I don’t own anything very old in my apt. What does that say about me?

Life's Journeys Unfolding

mB3ERFQCPnr4Vh-X3L6UmOg

Antique Antics | Chinese Dresser 1900’s | I am Qing

What’s the oldest thing you own? (Toys, clothing, twinkies, Grecian urns: anything’s fair game.) Recount its history — from the object’s point of view.

I am from the Qing Dynasty. I have survived many things. This Dynasty was founded in 1644 and had seen much prosperity. I am a black lacquered Dresser, hand painted, with mother of pearl inlay. I date back to 1895 before the lost war with Japan and the defeat during the Boxer Uprising of 1900. I am not only old and beautiful, but also precious and elegant. I am from a time of diligent careful craftsmanship, which can be seen in my exquisite inlays and hand painted detail. A time before almost forgot.

I am doubly precious, since I survived the struggles and uprisings of a revolution against the Manchu government.

I have come all the way from…

View original post 90 more words

Leave a Reply

